I walked into the gym today with my gi, and what I paid my entrance fee was reminded that today was no gi. This was the first time that I rolled with keypads. I do like the show works better than the pants as I got high during the role. If they feel overall better on my knees though.

We learned a couple pretty good new moves, and some fundamental position tips for close guard that I can use moving forward.The coach was a really funny guy that I haven’t seen before. Two of his really funny quotes or that he put his head down and is asked of and said name all the important things you’ve done in this position. He also was showing his bicep and said sums out guns out.

Close Guard Opponent Breakdown
You want to continue to break your opponent down when they are in your close guard. However historically I have had trouble just using my hands to break the opponent down. This move will really help add to that arsenal. Basically, all you do is sit your hips up like you’re going to do it set up sweep, then try to pull your knees to your years. This should get them off guard and then be able to break them down. From there, you can continue working them down into a suite or a submission.



Stand up against close guard
I’ve never really know how to stand up and break open a close guard. This move is vitally important in the no gi game because he did not have enough handles when sitting in close guard. There are just too many opportunities to get broken down and get submitted from that position. To complete this move, you need to trap one arm and hold it so they can’t like PICU when you stand up. Stand up with the leg that is by the trapped arm first, then stand up with the other leg. Arch your hips back to break open the regard. Do not let them pull you down and do not worry if they try to trap a leg as long as you have the one arm trapped.



Reversal again stand up guard
if someone is standing up against your guard, reverse grip their arm to control it and try to pull them down. From there, wrap your bicep around her leg and pushed their knee out with your hips. This move is like doing an ankle pick by using your hips instead of your head. It was done to me when I tried standing up against the guard because I let their arm go, and felt very effective. When you complete the move, you need to make sure that you and on your side or pull yourself up into Mount so they don’t end up back in your guard.



Live roll Notes
I felt like my movement was pretty good throughout the role and I continued switching from position to position. That really does feel more fun than just trying to crank someone’s arm when they know what you’re trying to do. There were a number of times that I did seem to trick somebody and put them in a worse position.

I need to remember when I’m inside control that I can attack the inside arm by doing a sit through arm bar. I tried doing it against one opponent, but took way too much time in the shrimps out of it. I guess that is the reversal to that move.

There was one purple belt there and I felt like I did a pretty good job against him. He continued to break me down and caught me in a triangle two times. It feels like an OD if you are in somebody’s guard you either need to stand up to break it open, or let them break you down enough to open their legs so you can attack. If you’re just sitting there defending you have no grips and it gets tiring.