The name of the game tonight was conditioning. We had an extended warm-up with a number of solo drills, and at the end of practice we had additional conditioning with pull-ups and push-ups. It seems that coach really wants to make sure that we start the new year in good condition. I expect this to continue throughout at least the next week or two before we get back on a normal schedule.

I was pretty happy with my performance tonight outside the conditioning. I had a number of good passes on Marco, almost got past Chuong, and had two clean submissions on a first-degree white belt. I was completely gassed by the end of open mat, but even so I should’ve rolled with Brian.

Butterfly Guard Armdrag vs. Kneeling
  1. Get strong grips on both her hands
  2. Kick attacking leg out and pulled back with hand to brake grip
  3. Arm drag opponent across
  4. Swing leg over and take back or get into rodeo ride
This can also work with no gi, just make sure you have good hand control when pulling the arm. to increase the effectiveness of the attack, as the arm drag is happening is the opposite leg to kick out there based on the side you’re pulling them. This will further flatten them out and give you a more dominant position in taking the back.

If your opponent pulls the arm back as your completeness, release the arm and just do a near leg takedown.



Butterfly Guard Armdrag vs. Standing
  1. Grab under tricep on same side
  2. Post out with alternate hand
  3. Hip out on same side as tricep
  4. Pull down to mat with hooked arm
This works well when an opponent is standing, and using his weight to flatten out your legs to try to pass. Coach said that he normally allows the opponent to stand and then works this sweep.


Collar Drag
You can also do an arm drag from the same side power position. Basically, you are using the collar instead of the tricep to drag opponent across. It is more critical that you take out the same side lag when doing this drag, as they will be able to post since you are not controlling their opposite arm. It also appears that this will work with the cross collar choke. On my next role I’m going to fake with the cross collar choke, and then see if I can take the leg out and get the sweep.




Chuong
He continues to use the shin guard on me. He typically has me so wrapped up I’m unable to clear that leg. If I try to go around in the other side, he uses his other butterfly hook and repositions himself. I am adding a question to ask him tomorrow and what I can do to shut this position down, as he and Marco always use it on me.