Today I did a back to back training session with Muy Thai and then Brazilian. The Thai kicked my butt, and then I stayed for open roll. I was a mess when I was done, but felt pretty good.

Punching
Right now am winging my strikes using all arm, and not my body like I should be. I need to work at turning my hips both on the jab and the cross to get more power behind them.



Double-leg
We did a number of double leg takedowns, working on the movement in the setup to make the takedown happen. The step back to make the opponent post out is very similar to a judo trip set up. The big difference is clearing their arms to your able to get in and make the grab.



Mount Escape - Move into Half Guard
We did a mount escape, that I think will be pretty effective. Shrimp to one side while mounted. Using your far leg, kick it around and hook their foot so you are in half guard on the wrong side. From there, push their leg down and switch your hips to get into normal half guard. At the same time, get the under hook to be safe.

Rolling
Overall, I had a very good roll. I was able to complete a number of submissions, and really felt like I had a dominant position most the time. I was able to complete a situp sweep four times, against two opponents. This is great, as this was a sweep that I was struggling with for the longest time. I now seem to understand the movement and set up of the sweep.