The instruction today was very timely, as I’ve been questioning my triangle technique over the last few weeks. I feel like it’s a move I used to be able to use fairly regularly, but recently its effectiveness has gone way down. I found out that I’m putting way too many movements into the submission, which allows my opponents to know that it is coming and to block it. Going back to how I used to do it, I was able to lock it in a number of times during open mat.

Double-leg setup
We started the day by doing a simple double leg takedown set up. This works well if your opponent has you in a Muay Thai clinch. Make your hands into a V, and push up on their elbows to clear their arms. From there, go in for the double leg. I also think this would work fine with the single leg.

Triangle from Closed Guard
Coach showed us a simple triangle from close guard. When we started practicing, it was apparent I had far too many motions. Also with the angle I was creating, I was not locked in tight with my leg on the carotid; it was more that I was doing the trake choke. I should push the arm in to clear it, then go straight up to lock in the triangle. From there, grab the leg and create the angle that I need to finish. Do not try to create the angle or an alternate angle during the setup. I will practice this on Sunday, and get my motion back to where it needs to be.



Triangle to Armbar
One thing we discussed that I also want to practice as if the opponent postures before the triangle is completely sunk in, you can switch to an arm bar. As soon as you feel them posturing, just swing a leg that is over their shoulder over there had to complete the arm bar. I need to be extremely careful with this, as the arm bar is tight right away because your opponent is posturing.

If they then try to stack you to stop the move, you can easily go back to the triangle. It’s probably a good drill to go back and forth between the triangle and the arm bar.

Live Rolling
Even though I was extremely tired, I felt like I did well during live rolling. I hit a number of good submissions off my back, and did a number of sweeps. Moving forward, I need to work harder at following my mind map, or updating my mind map with new situations. I felt like I did better when I was following that and when I was improvising. I should also make a note to continue building those maps out for positions other than just close guard. I will start working on the map around attacking guard next.