Today I decided to go back to the judo club that I injured myself that about six months ago. This was basically where I left my judo career behind and started doing Brazilian. This is just what I needed; working on the fundamentals and getting them right instead of learning new move after move. My throws were just awful, but that was expected. What I did not realize was how bad my fundamental ground game was. I know that this is now part of my issue when rolling Brazilian. Without a strong fundamental game I’m leaving myself open for attacks and sweeps.

I need to now commit that work on the solo drills I learned today so I’m ready next week when I go back.

Tai otoshi (Body Drop)
I’ve been doing this all wrong even from my training with Steve. The move starts by punching while holding low on the gi. Also on the turn, you should be hard on your foot and not on the ball. These are things that are fundamentals that have really helped me even today.


  1. Grab the power arm low on the gi and the pulling arm on the sleeve
  2. Punch across the body as you are pulling with the arm
  3. Step your back sugar foot back
  4. Step down hard across their body
  5. Continue the motion and pull them across
There is a good solo drill that I can do to simulate the movement with my upper and lower body. I can even do this from walking backwards and forwards. I need to make a goal to work on this when I am not live training.

Osoto Gari (Big Outer Reap)
Again, the fundamentals here are critically important. When I was done working I felt like I did the best osoto I’ve ever done in my whole life. This is with just some simple modifications to the throw that I’ve never known before.


  1. Step in and close the distance, jacking them sideways with your power arm
  2. Keep your attacking leg off the ground the whole time; do not plant it behind them and try to push. This will cause you to easily be reversed
  3. Take your leg up, making sure your toe is pointed. You’re not trying to kick a football.
  4. Swing it back in behind you, finishing the throw
  5. Make sure you keep your grips on your opponent as they end up on the ground. Do not just let them go as they are in the middle of their fall.
There is a great solo drill where you step in, lift your leg very high point in your toe, and then following through. You can use a chair to stabilize yourself as you practice this. This should be on my practice list moving forward.

Kesa-gatame (Scarf Hold)
Here again. I thought I knew the good scarf hold, but one of my hands was out of position. You need to make sure you trap their near arm with your leg. Your other hand should come around their neck to hold them off position with their head. If they try to bridge, you can use the arm by the head to post out and not lose the position.

kuzure-kesa-gatame (Reverse Scarf Hold)
This is the same as the scarf hold, but you are holding under their arm instead of up above their head. This does not feel like it’s as strong a position because you are able to be countered by pushing your head into their legs. This allows your head to be trapped by their legs and reverse you.

Tate-shiho-gatame (Vertical four quarter hold)
I never use this hold in Brazilian jujitsu. I can see why, as they are able to push her head into their legs pretty easily because your head is so far down their body.

Reversal from North-South
My typical reversal here is to kick my legs up and scoot out. That usually wastes a ton of energy and only sometimes works. Here they showed me a much easier way to reverse if you can get a least one hand to your opponent’s neck. All you have to do is turn your side, and jam your thumb knuckle into their neck on the opposite side. That will create the space you need and will probably even roll them over. It hurt like hell when it was done to me. This will be my go to move when a north-south, as I think I can even pull it off if they have me in the head and arm choke.