This was the first training session that I actively put my new Sprawl skills into effect. I had wonderful results overall with my sprawl and being able to pass open guard. My feet did not get stuck like they usually do when passing guard, and I completed passes the number of times without issue. It worked so well I’m starting to wonder what the counters are to it, so I posted that question online. We also learned a very good half guard pass and fundamentals of the half guard position.

Half Guard Position
As I’m passing guard, if I’m able to get an under hook on the far side control of the near side arm I can hold my opponent without having to be on top of them with my hips. If I keep my hips next to theirs and low to the mat, there is little to nothing that they can do to escape. This is a very strong position with what looks like relatively few counters. The big battle there will be who gets that far side underhook. If they have a far side under hook, this position will not work because they will be able to take my back. If I do not have control of their near side arm they will be able to shrimp that in and work a sweep. If my hips are not low enough to the ground, they may be able to get back to full guard.

Overall, I need to fight hard for the under hook on the far side and control the arm on the near side. I should not let them get my hips over their hips if they are controlling either side, as that is when they are able to sweep. If I’m in this position and they open their legs to bridge, that is one I can easily step through the pass. I just need to wait for that trigger to move.

1/2 Guard Pass
The simple pass from this position is to use your far side leg and push on their legs while pulling in the near side free. There is very little they can do except try to hold on. From what I’ve found, eventually you will get the leg free and can move into scarf hold. The biggest thing on this is to just remember to keep the hips low to the mat as you are opening their legs so they do not shrimp in and regain full guard.

Sprawl Pass
During live role I tried the sprawl pass a number of times. What I found is if anyone is trying to use the shin shield, or really any open guard play, I can use the sprawl to pass. All that I did was put my weight on their legs to flatten them out, and sprawled my legs out. From there I just walked around their backside, and once I was past their legs I sat through to scarf hold. I pulled this off at least five times against three different opponents. I’m going to continue to work on this as my go-to pass moving forward. I will still keep using combat base to keep them from closing their guard.

Remember the Pendulum Sweep
When I was rolling with Francis I tried an arm bar, but did not want to hurt his head so I did not fully execute it. My leg was all the way up by his head and he was in perfect position for pendulum sweep. However, I did not go through with the move because I forgot about it. I need to practice with George failed arm bars into pendulum sweeps to get this into my repertoire. Is such a simple sweep that would’ve worked had I done it.



Broken Opponent
I broke down both Francis and the new guy in my close guard, but still had trouble doing a quick sweep or submission. I feel like I’m breaking them down almost too far where I don’t have much space to move my legs because all the weight is on top of me. What I’m going to try to do are two things: First, when I’m in this position I will open up my guard and just kick their need back to roll them over on the side that I have an underhook. Secondly, I need to start attacking with kimora’s and guillotines because their neck is right there. This is something that I straight up just missed on the new guy and I ended up using a complicated sweep when I didn’t need to.

What do to when one of my legs is pinned?
I am adding a question on what to do when my opponent pins one of my legs to the mat while passing. I believe I still have some kind of sweep or arm bar or something that I can do, but I couldn’t figure out what to do when this was happening. I’m going to ask the forms or someone when I have a chance.