I went to a good gym in Orlando to work out. There were only a few of us, so it was more of everyone sharing moves rather than an actual class. We did not even get much chance to roll even though we were there for over two hours.

Turtle roll-over using far foot
This is an awesome move that I’ve shared with a number of folks, and works very well. If your opponent is in turtle, an easy way to get him to roll over is to simply push his away heel down to the mat. This will cause uncomfortable cause him to roll over without even thinking about it.

Fingers on toes to Achilles rub
This one is illegal and competition, but the instructor showed how to make it happen. If the opponent is in strong turtle, reach and try to grab a choke hold so you look like you’re choking. From there, use your other hand to grabbed their near side toes. Move your knee over to their Achilles, pull up on their toes, and then saw with your knee. They may scream out, or at worse they will take their leg out, giving you an easy way to roll them over.

Peruvian Necktie
This was an interesting move on a situation that happens to me quite often. If I have my opponent with an arm in guillotine from turtle, instead of rolling into guard I can use this move. Basically, all I need to do is step by near leg over their head, and step my far leg over their body. From there all I need to do is roll on my back or side and squeeze to choke them.



Juji Leg Press Defense
Instead of just locking my arms when I’m in leg press, roll my legs up and grab them with the arm that is in trouble under my knee. This is a much stronger grip to have to break to get the submission. While they are focused on that arm, I now have another arm free that I’m able to post out on. This gives me options to shuck the leg off my head and roll out of the submission attempt.

Stand Up Details
I need to start standing up more often than getting comfortable on my feet and close guard. Lock down one arm by holding the gi, and use my weight stand to up on both my feet at the same time. Then use the arm that is holding the gi into my side, and into their knee. Shake to shuck the legs. From there, it is great to use the other arm and under hook that leg and come across to lock it down. From there, it was it is easy to stack and pass.

The drill that we worked on was continuing to stand when the opponent on the bottom tries to hook your leg and push you over. This seems like a skill that I just need practice until I am unable to be knocked over. It is true that most people if you go for the leg will go right back down to their knees. They were pretty specific or if you attempt to stand up, continue to stay standing until you complete the pass or you fall over.

Flower Sweep with Leg Pull
This was an a very effective modification to the standard flower sweep that I have been working on. I hit it a number of times after the session successfully. All that needs to happen is instead of grabbing the knee, grab down near the foot. As you are going for the sweep, pull the foot out and towards you like a Russian leg drag. Then use that as your lever to roll the opponent over. Make sure that you still have their other arm lockdowns they do not post, as this will not overcome a post.