Today was the first time I did kickboxing then right into jujitsu. It was also the first time that I did kickboxing as a whole. I learned quite a bit in KC, but will not talk about that training in this blog. I think you will be best to keep the two sports separate. However, I definitely will continue doing both back-to-back in Saturday’s. I was not in as bad a shape is a thought I would have been after doing that. Next time, I will stay and train through the live rounds.

In jujitsu we learned some pretty good close guard techniques, and a good solo drill to help with my leg picks.

Double-leg Setup
We did a five minute drill on double legs. What I found most helpful about this was working on my setups. If I can get arm control and collar control seems to be good to push down and away from the side that I will be attacking. Then when they make that step with their outside leg, I go in for the double leg



Russian 2-on-1 to pendulum Sweep from close to guard
this was a sweet that I deftly need in my arsenal from closed guard. It really helps when my opponent is completely on top of me and I don’t have the space to get my knee and for a scissor sweep, or get my legs back to push him.
  • break posture, and get legs high on opponent. Up near their armpits is best
  • cross grip a hand, import across my body
  • hip out on the side of the arm
  • reach up, and get in overcoat on the same arm
  • when opponent tries to pull his arm out, open guard and use that momentum to sweep them.
if the opponent does not hold her arm back, will lease the over hook, and reach around and rather wet. From there, you can complete the same sweep with the leverage that you have.

The suite also works from half guard. It is more important that you have a stronghold on their arm or lat, as you will not have the force from the opposite leg to push against them.